Tony is one of the world’s foremost fusion experts, with nearly 40 years of scientific research and technology development in the field. From 2014 until 2023, Tony served as Chief Executive Officer of EUROfusion, leading a consortium of 31 national fusion research institutes in 29 European countries. Prior to EUROfusion, Tony was head of the Fusion Physics Division at DIFFER and Director of the ITER-Netherlands program. In 2023, he was selected by the European Patent Office as one of the 10 Leading Tech Voices in the Industries of the future.

Throughout his career, Tony has worked in plasma diagnostics at several international fusion projects. As chair of the ITPA and EFDA Topical Group on Diagnostics, he was closely involved in developing diagnostics for ITER. He was a member of many committees, including the Governing Board of Fusion for Energy (F4E), the EURATOM Scientific and Technical Committee (STC), the ITER Scientific and Technology Advisory Committee, the Coordinating Committee of the International Tokamak Physics Activity (including three years as chair), and the Supervisory Board of the Max-Planck Institute for Plasma Physics.

Tony was also a member of the Board of Editors of the peer-reviewed journal Nuclear Fusion. He has published about 185 papers in peer-reviewed journals and more than 350 conference proceedings.

Tony graduated in Physics at Utrecht University in 1980 (cum laude) and obtained his Ph.D. in Experimental Physics at the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam in 1985. In 2010, he was appointed professor in Diagnostics and Heating of Fusion Devices at Eindhoven University of Technology.